Olivier Babaz Releases “Midnight Cafeine”

Olivier Babaz: Midnight CafeineBassist Olivier Babaz has released his first trio album entitled Midnight Cafeine. Featuring pianist Sylvain Ransy and drummer Mark Nelson, the 10-track effort includes lots of creative interplay between the musicians.

Babaz, who composed all the songs on Midnight Cafeine, utilizes both upright and electric basses throughout the album to create unique textures in the soundscape.

“[My] electric bass playing influences a lot my acoustic playing,” the bassist said in our interview with him. “The switch between electric and acoustic helps keeping fresh sounds and rhythmic ideas.”

The album is available for download on Bandcamp, where you can also preview two of the full tracks. Here’s a video of a third tune, “Migration.”

Midnight Cafeine Track List:

  1. Migration
  2. Le blues de l’escalier
  3. La valse des abesses
  4. Kayamb kompressor
  5. Midnight cafeine
  6. The road to Hearst
  7. Frenetik
  8. Boomerang
  9. D’ici demain
  10. Plutonium

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts