Daft Punk Releases “Random Access Memories”

Daft Punk: Random Access MemoriesElectronica duo Daft Punk have taken a turn towards humanity with their latest album, Random Access Memories, which almost exclusively uses live instrumentation. The 13-track effort brings together a spectacular cast of guest musicians including Julian Casablancas, Pharrell Williams, Paul Williams, Nile Rodgers, Chilly Gonzalez and others.

“Making music with musicians and bringing back a certain craftsmanship, that was totally unfamiliar for us. It was somehow a certain fantasy,” Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter told The Huffington Post. “It’s funny because it was somehow a luxury to be able to do that. But at the same time it was not a comfortable position.”

The retro-inspired album throws back to late ’70s pop and disco grooves. Bassists on the album include James Genus, Don Ferrone, Drew Dembowski, Charles Berghofer, and Nathan East, who lays down the low end on the single “Get Lucky.”

Random Access Memories is out now on CD, vinyl and in digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Random Access Memories Track List:

  1. Give Life Back to Music
  2. The Game of Love
  3. Giorgio by Moroder
  4. Within
  5. Instant Crush (feat. Julian Casablancas)
  6. Lose Yourself to Dance (feat. Pharrell Williams)
  7. Touch (feat. Paul Williams)
  8. Get Lucky (feat. Pharrell Williams)
  9. Beyond
  10. Motherboard
  11. Fragments of Time (feat. Todd Edwards)
  12. Doin’ It Right (feat. Panda Bear)
  13. Contact

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Leave a Reply to Lars Potratz Cancel reply

  1. amazing drum work, also. the combination of live instruments and the robot e-sounds is just beautiful, especially in ‘giorgio by moroder’.

  2. Great bass playing for great music! However, my cd’s leaflet lists only James Genus and (mostly) Nathan East on bass…