Black Sabbath Releases “13”

Black Sabbath: 13The wait is finally over. Black Sabbath have released 13, their first studio album featuring original members Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler since 1978’s Never Say Die. The band, which officially reunited in late 2011, is rounded out by Rage Against the Machine drummer Brad Wilk, who fills in for Bill Ward. Ward left the reunion in February 2012 after contract disputes. The move to use Wilk was producer Rick Rubin’s idea as part of getting the band back to their original sound.

“[It was] Rick Rubin’s idea,” Butler told Frankie DiVita of Southern California’s 96.7 KCAL Rocks. “He didn’t want a typical heavy metal drummer on the album, ‘cause it’s not really a heavy metal album; it’s more of a rock… heavy rock. And Rick Rubin suggested having Brad, ‘cause he’s more in the vein of [original drummer] Bill Ward. It’s sort of back to the way we used to be in the ‘70s; that’s his feel — sort of a jazzy, bluesy feel to him, and that’s the way the music is now. It was great working with him.”

Sabbath has released a music video for 13’s first single, “God is Dead?”:

With individual career paths and guitarist Iommi’s health issues, it’s unclear whether the band will ever put out another album together. Butler, however, suggests further projects are possible. “Well, I guess you should never say never,” he told Billboard. “It could be, though. We’ll see how this album goes, see what happens.”

13 is out now on CD, vinyl and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

13 Track List:

  1. End of the Beginning
  2. God Is Dead?
  3. Loner
  4. Zeitgeist
  5. Age of Reason
  6. Live Forever
  7. Damaged Soul
  8. Dear Father
  9. Methademic [Deluxe Edition Bonus Track]
  10. Peace of Mind [Deluxe Edition Bonus Track]
  11. Pariah [Deluxe Edition Bonus Track]

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Leave a Reply to Willy Hettman Cancel reply

  1. Geezer’s bass tone is wicked!

  2. I preordered the Deluxe CD. The cd case was delivered empty. Lesson learned: always shop at your local music store!

  3. Anyone else seems to notice Geezer’s playing quite dull? I don’t expect him playing the same way he did 40 years ago, he is one of my fav players, but I just don’t like what he did in 13.

  4. Black Sabbath is back and if God is Dead? is any indication of the rest of 13 they’re back with the same vengeance they had from the beginning! Can’t wait to see them live.