Seasick Steve Releases “Hubcap Music”, Featuring John Paul Jones

Seasick Steve: Hubcap MusicSeasick Steve is back with his sixth studio album, Hubcap Music.

Steve named the album because “cus I play some songs on a guitar made out of two hubcaps and a garden hoe, and cus I couldn’t think of nothing else.”

The new album was “recorded on a tape recorder, on old fashion tape, mixed on tape and the vinyl cut from tape” and features John Paul Jones on bass, lap steel ukulele, mandolin, Hammond organ and backup vocals. Other musicians include Jack White on lead guitar (“The Way I Do”), Luther Dickinson on slide guitar (“Home”), Elizabeth Cook on vocals (“Purple Shadow”), Dan Magnusson on drums, Fats Kaplin on pedal steel (“Purple Shadows” and “Heavy Weight”) and fiddle (“Heavy Weight”).

The album starts with “Down On The Farm,” a song Steve performed for the first time last year at the Pinkpop Festival in the Netherlands. The video is pretty hilarious:

Hubcap Music is out now on CD, vinyl and digital format.

Hubcap Music Track List:

  1. Down On The Farm
  2. Self-Sufficient Man
  3. Keep On Keepin’ On
  4. Over You
  5. The Way I Do
  6. Purple Shadows
  7. Freedom Road
  8. Home
  9. Hope
  10. Heavy Weight
  11. Coast Is Clear
  12. Tractor

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts