The Beatles’ Volume 2 of “On Air – Live At The BBC” Released

The Beatles: On Air - Live At The BBC Volume 2Back in 1994, Beatles fans rejoiced when they got a peek into the band’s early history with the release of Live at the BBC, a collection of songs and interview snippets with DJs, all from the band’s prime early-to-mid 60s “mop top” era.

And now those who wanted to hear more are in luck with the appearance of On Air—Live at the BBC Volume 2. None of the performances on the new record, which spans the years 1962-65, are repeats from the first Grammy-winning compilation. Instead, it presents a new set of performances, all recorded—as the title notes—live at BBC studios. These songs come from an era when hundreds of live Beatles performances were played on the BBC.

After hearing the recordings, Paul McCartney said, “There’s a lot of energy and spirit. We are going for it, not holding back at all, trying to put in the best performance of our lifetimes.”

This new set of songs features alternate versions of a few tunes found on the 1994 release, some completely new covers like a rock-and-roll take on the classic, “Beautiful Dreamer,” and of course, early Beatles hits and staples of the band’s early live shows, from “Money” to “If I Fell.”

In addition to this new record, the 1994 set has been re-released in a newly remastered edition.

On Air—Live at the BBC Volume 2, compiled and researched by Kevin Howlett and Mike Heatley, is being released in a 2-CD set and 180-gram vinyl packages, each with a 48-page booklet featuring essays on the BBC sessions and track commentaries.

The Beatles: On Air – Live At The BBC Volume 2 Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. And Here We Are Again (Speech)
  2. Words of Love
  3. How About It, Gorgeous? (Speech)
  4. Do You Want To Know a Secret
  5. Lucille
  6. Hey, Paul… (Speech)
  7. Anna (Go To Him)
  8. Hello! (Speech)
  9. Please Please Me
  10. Misery
  11. I’m Talking About You
  12. A Real Treat (Speech)
  13. Boys
  14. Absolutely Fab (Speech)
  15. Chains
  16. Ask Me Why
  17. Till There Was You
  18. Lend Me Your Comb
  19. Lower 5E (Speech)
  20. The Hippy Hippy Shake
  21. Roll Over Beethoven
  22. There’s A Place
  23. Bumper Bundle (Speech)
  24. P.S. I Love You
  25. Please Mister Postman
  26. Beautiful Dreamer
  27. Devil In Her Heart
  28. The 49 Weeks (Speech)
  29. Sure To Fall (In Love With You)
  30. Never Mind, Eh? (Speech)
  31. Twist And Shout
  32. Bye, Bye (speech)
  33. John – Pop Profile (Speech)
  34. George – Pop Profile (Speech)

Disc 2:

  1. I Saw Her Standing There
  2. Glad All Over
  3. Lift Lid Again (Speech)
  4. I’ll Get You
  5. She Loves You
  6. Memphis, Tennessee
  7. Happy Birthday Dear Saturday Club
  8. Now Hush, Hush (Speech)
  9. From Me To You
  10. Money (That’s What I Want)
  11. I Want To Hold Your Hand
  12. Brian Bathtubes (Speech)
  13. This Boy
  14. If I Wasn’t In America (Speech)
  15. I Got A Woman
  16. Long Tall Sally
  17. If I Fell
  18. A Hard Job Writing Them (Speech)
  19. And I Love Her
  20. Oh, Can’t We? Yes We Can (Speech)
  21. You Can’t Do That
  22. Honey Don’t
  23. I’ll Follow The Sun
  24. Green With Black Shutters (Speech)
  25. Kansas City/Hey-Hey-Hey-Hey!
  26. That’s What We’re Here For (Speech)
  27. I Feel Fine (Studio Outtake)
  28. Paul – Pop Profile (Speech)
  29. Ringo – Pop Profile (Speech)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts