the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Royal Southern Brotherhood Releases “Songs From the Road: Live in Germany”

Royal Southern Brotherhood: Songs From the Road: Live in GermanyBlues-rock supergroup Royal Southern Brotherhood’s legendary October 2012 performance at Bonn, Germany’s Crossroads Festival for the German TV show Rockpalast has been captured in a CD/DVD set as a part of Ruf Records’ Songs From the Road series.

If you’re unfamiliar with the Brotherhood and love Southern blues/rock, these are guys to check out, with Charlie Wooton (ZydeFunk, Bonerama, Woods Brothers) on bass, Cyril Neville handling vocals and percussion, Devon Allman and Mike Zito handling vocal and guitar work, and Yonrico Scott on drums.

Live in Germany features songs from the band’s self-titled debut album, as well as a cover of The Rolling Stones’ “Gimme Shelter.”

The live record provides just a taste of more to come, with a second studio album expected this year from the band of pros who left their egos at the door when they decided to play together. “This was about making something greater than the individual parts,” Devon has said. “I mean, everyone hopes they can do a band like this. It’s been a dream come true…”

See Royal Southern Brotherhood in action at the German concert, performing “Moonlight Over The Mississippi”:

Songs From the Road: Live in Germany is available in a CD/DVD set and digital format.

Songs From the Road: Live in Germany Track List:

  1. Fire Up
  2. Hurts My Heart
  3. Gotta Keep Rockin
  4. Moonlight Over The Mississippi
  5. Left My Heart In Memphis
  6. Fire On The Mountain
  7. Band Intoductions
  8. Ways About You
  9. Sweet Jelly Donut
  10. New Horizons
  11. All Around The World
  12. Gimme Shelter
  13. Bonus Material: Interviews plus unplugged track “Fired Up”

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts