Royal Southern Brotherhood Connects With Soul History on “Don’t Look Back”

Royal Southern Brotherhood: Don't Look BackBlues-rock-funk supergroup Royal Southern Brotherhood visited the almost-magical environment of Muscle Shoals, Alabama, to produce Don’t Look Back: The Muscle Shoals Sessions.

The band, featuring stalwart Louisiana player Charlie Wooton (ZABADODAT) on bass, is a powerhouse of blues/funk players, including Cyril Neville (The Meters, The Neville Brothers) on percussion and vocals; Yonrico Scott (Derek Trucks Band, Yonrico Scott Band) on drums, as well as guitar newcomers Bart Walker and Tyrone Vaughan (son of Jimmie and nephew of the late Stevie Ray Vaughan), who replaced founding members Mike Zito and Devon Allman (son of Gregg and nephew of the late Duane).

Don’t Look Back reveals a band influenced by the Alabama town, known for the powerhouse soul, R&B, and rock records produced there from the 1960s onward. Recorded at FAME Studios with producer Tom Hambridge, the band’s third album turns “up the funk.”

This teaser offers a little insight into the album’s sound:

And here’s the title track in full:

Don’t Look Back is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Don’t Look Back Track List:

  1. I Wanna Be Free
  2. Reach My Goal
  3. Don’t Look Back
  4. Hit Me Once
  5. The Big Greasy
  6. Hard Blues
  7. Better Half
  8. Penzi
  9. It’s Time for Love
  10. Bayou Baby
  11. Poor Boy
  12. They Don’t Make ‘Em Like You No More
  13. Come Hell or High Water
  14. Anchor Me

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Doc.Hoc.

    Most excellent ,