Lake Street Dive Release “Bad Self Portraits”

Lake Street Dive: Bad Self PortraitsLake Street Dive is often called a string band with soul, and its latest album lives up to the description, as well as the acclaim the folk band has received in its young career.

Bad Self Portraits, out on Signature Sounds Recordings, features an eclectic pop style created by double bassist Bridget Kearney, vocalist Rachael Price, drummer Mike Calabrese and guitarist Mike “McDuck” Olson (who also plays trumpet.)

Although the group began with the intent of being an avant-garde “free country” group, it morphed into something different and far better. “It seems the only limitation we have,” Kearney has said, “is that we try to make music that we would like listening to.”

People are really listening, with the band having been featured as part of the Coen Brothers-inspired concert, Another Day/Another Time: Celebrating the Music of “Inside Llewyn Davis.” Check out Lake Street Dive performing “You Go Down Smooth,” which is also featured on Bad Self Portraits, and then get a taste of “Rental Love” from Bad Self Portraits:

Bad Self Portraits is available on CD, vinyl and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Bad Self Portraits Track List:

  1. Bad Self Portraits
  2. Stop Your Crying
  3. Better Than
  4. Rabid Animal
  5. You Go Down Smooth
  6. Use Me Up
  7. Bobby Tanqueray
  8. Just Ask
  9. Seventeen
  10. What About Me
  11. Rental Love

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts