the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Jack Bruce Releases “Silver Rails”

Jack Bruce: Silver RailsLegendary rock bassist, songwriter and vocalist Jack Bruce – known for his influential style and his days in the supergroup Cream with guitarist Eric Clapton and drummer Ginger Baker – has returned with his first studio album in a decade, Silver Rails.

Recorded at Abbey Road studios in London, the album features a host of guest players, including Phil Manzanera, Robin Trower, John Medeski and others. Lyricists Pete Brown, Kip Hanrahan and Margrit Seyffer also worked with him on the record.

In an interview with The Huffington Post, Bruce, 70, admits the album is personal and does have a reflective feel, but it’s not really about looking to the past. “…I think a lot of the things that are in there apply to a lot of people of all ages. I’d like to think so anyway. I think there’s little things in there that people can understand. I think it’s more accessible than a lot of my previous things.”

A deluxe limited edition of the album also comes with a “making of” DVD, directed by Bruce’s daughter.

Here’s a peek at the making of the record. The song “Fields of Forever” plays in the background:

You can also hear Bruce talk about the record on the JackBruceMusic YouTube channel.

Silver Rails is available as a regular CD, deluxe CD/DVD edition, on vinyl, and as a digital download.

Silver Rails Track List:

  1. Candlelight
  2. Reach for the Night
  3. Fields of Forever
  4. Hidden Cities
  5. Don’t Look Now
  6. Rusty Lady
  7. Industrial Child
  8. Drone
  9. Keep It Down
  10. No Surrender

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts