the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

G. Love and Special Sauce Release “Sugar”

G. Love and Special Sauce: SugarG. Love & Special Sauce founding member, bassist Jim “Jimi Jazz” Prescott has returned to fold for a new album that marks the 20th anniversary of the group’s recorded debut. Prescott previously played with the group from 1993 through 2008.

The new album, Sugar, will sound somewhat familiar to old school fans of the group known for its laid-back, bluesy, hip-hop style.

“We wanted to take it back to the old-school vibe of the first record, those rich, warm sounds from when we were rocking small clubs and going on that acoustic feeling,” said Prescott.

See what you think of the reformed lineup on the album’s first single, “Nothing Quite Like Home”:

Sugar is available on CD and digital format (iTunes and Amazon MP3.)

Sugar Track List:

  1. Come Up Man
  2. Nite Life
  3. Good Life
  4. Nothing Else Quite Like Home
  5. Smokin’ Blues
  6. Sugar
  7. Weekend Dance #2
  8. Saturday Night
  9. One Night Romance (featuring Merry Clayton — that’s the female voice in The Rolling Stones’ “Gimme Shelter”)
  10. Windshield Wipers
  11. Cheating Heart
  12. Too Much Month
  13. Run For Me
  14. Bad Girl Baby Blues

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts