The Allman Brothers Release 40th Anniversary Concert DVD

Allman Brothers/40: 40th Anniversary Show Live At The Beacon TheatreOn March 26, 2009, 40 years to the day that the original Allman Brothers Band played together, the revitalized version of the group — original members Gregg Allman (vocals and keyboards), Jaimoe (drums), and Butch Trucks (drums, tympani) along with Marc Quinones (congas, percussion), Warren Haynes (vocals, lead and slide guitar), Derek Trucks (slide and lead guitar) and Oteil Burbridge on bass — honored the original band with a powerful performance at New York’s Beacon Theatre.

There, the band, in a venue where it has taken up an almost-yearly multi-date residency for two decades, played the first two Allman Brothers Band albums — the self-titled The Allman Brothers Band and Idlewild South — back-to-back and in their entirety.

And now that show is available on the DVD, 40th Anniversary Show Live At The Beacon Theatre. It comes as the ABB marks its 45th year, which is also said to be its last year of touring.

Check out the set list:

Set 1

  1. Don’t Want You No More
  2. It’s Not My Cross To Bear
  3. Black Hearted Woman
  4. Trouble No More
  5. Every Hungry Woman
  6. Dreams
  7. Whipping Post

Set 2

  1. Revival
  2. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’
  3. Midnight Rider
  4. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed / Drum solo & bass solo w/Derek
  5. Hoochie Coochie Man
  6. Please Call Home
  7. Leave My Blues at Home
  8. Encore: Statesboro Blues

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Oh yeah, can’t wait to check this out!