Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band Releases “Life in the Bubble”

Gordon Goodwin's Big Phat Band: Life in the Bubble“Your life will be greatly enriched” by Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band’s sixth album, Life in the Bubble.

Or at least that’s what bandleader Goodwin has to say.

The 10-song collection (seven of which are originals) features the Grammy-winning band, featuring Rick Shaw on bass (he also plays with Johnny Mathis, Bill Holman, and Chick Corea,) in top form. Goodwin said the players have “set a new standard for the band,” on this record.

You can hear more of what he has to say here:

The non-originals on the record include the “Get Smart” television show theme, “On Green Dolphin Street,” which won a Grammy for Best Instrumental Arrangement, and “Party Rockers” with vocals from Judith Hill, most recently known for her appearance in the documentary 20 Feet From Stardom about successful rock/pop backup singers.

Check out this excerpt from “Party Rockers”:

Life in the Bubble is available on CD and digital format (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Life in the Bubble Track List:

  1. Life in the Bubble
  2. Why Can’t We Have Nice Things
  3. Synolicks
  4. Years of Therapy
  5. The Passage
  6. Garaje Gato
  7. Does This Chart Make Me Look Phat?
  8. Get Smart
  9. On Green Dolphin Street
  10. Party Rockers

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts