the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Joshua Redman Taps Matt Penman and Reuben Rogers for “Trios Live”

Joshua Redman: Trios LiveSax player and bandleader Joshua Redman’s latest 7-song set, Trios Live, combines two live jazz club performances of two of this trios – distinguished by the presence of a different bass player in each.

The performances captured at Jazz Standard in New York City feature bassist Matt Penman, while the music from Blues Alley in Washington, D.C. features Reuben Rogers. Both trios Along include drummer Gregory Hutchinson.

“This album is dedicated to all those folks, all around the world, of all ages, identities, allegiances, and persuasions, who come out, day to day, night after night, to see and hear live jazz,” Redman says as part of the album’s liner notes.

Take a listen to “Soul Dance” from the album:

Trios Live is available on CD and for digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Trios Live Track List:

  1. Mack the Knife
  2. Never Let Me Go
  3. Soul Dance
  4. Act Natural
  5. Mantra #5
  6. Trinkle, Tinkle
  7. The Ocean