Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams Releases “Vanished Gardens”

Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams: Vanished GardensSaxophonist Charles Lloyd and songwriter Lucinda Williams have teamed up to release Vanished Gardens, an album that blends American music genres of jazz, blues, Americana, country, and rock to create a new sound. Each musician contributed songs to the album with “Dust”, “Ventura”, and “Unsuffer Me” by Williams and “Defiant”, “Vanished Gardens”, and “Blues for Langston and LaRue” by Lloyd.

The duo is supported by the Marvels, a juggernaut of a band that is comprised of guitarist Bill Frisell, pedal steel guitarist Greg Leisz, drummer Eric Harland, and bassist Reuben Rogers. Rogers pins the album together with a fat tone and soulful bass lines. Check out the loose groove on the first single, “We’ve Come Too Far To Turn Around”:

Vanished Gardens is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Vanished Gardens Track List:

  1. Defiant (Charles Lloyd)
  2. Dust featuring Lucinda Williams (Lucinda Williams)
  3. Vanished Gardens (Charles Lloyd)
  4. Ventura featuring Lucinda Williams (Lucinda Williams)
  5. Ballad of The Sad Young Men (Tommy Wolf/Fran Landesman)
  6. We’ve Come Too Far To Turn Around featuring Lucinda Williams (Lucinda Williams)
  7. Blues for Langston and LaRue (Charles Lloyd)
  8. Unsuffer Me featuring Lucinda Williams (Lucinda Williams)
  9. Monk’s Mood (Thelonious Monk)
  10. Angel featuring Lucinda Williams (Jimi Hendrix)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts