Corrosion of Conformity Releases Ninth Studio Album

Corrosion of Conformity: IXSludge metal outfit Corrosion of Conformity has released IX, their second album since their 2010 reunion of the band’s original 1982 lineup. The trio, which consists of guitarist Woody Weatherman, drummer Reed Mullin and bassist Mike Dean wanted to follow up 2012’s self-titled album sooner, but Dean says being forced to wait added to the album’s potential.

“The making of IX was drawn out because of us having to step away to do other projects,” Dean told “I think being forced to step away kept us hungry and then being back on the case with deadlines casting a shadow gave us a ‘failure is no option’ vibe and that really helped the final product.”

Dean explains the band set up their full live rigs in the studio to get an “authentic COC vibe,” and that the album has a 70s rock influence. Check out the whole interview:

IX is out now on CD and digital format (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

IX Track Listing:

  1. Brand New Sleep
  2. Elphyn
  3. Denmark Vesey
  4. The Nectar
  5. Interlude
  6. On Your Way
  7. Trucker
  8. The Hanged Man
  9. Tarquinius Superbus
  10. Who You Need To Blame
  11. The Nectar Revised

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts