Rhythm and Swing: Rodney Whitaker Releases “When We Find Ourselves Alone”

Rodney Whitaker: When We Find Ourselves AloneIt’s all about the rhythm for Rodney Whitaker, the double bassist and head of Jazz Studies at Michigan State University who has released his eighth album, When We Find Ourselves Alone.

The record features five originals and six arrangements of others’ work. But in the latter case, even standards become new when a different kind of rhythm is employed, Whitaker says in a short clip about the making of the album (video below).

His band on this outing includes top players like drummer Gregory Hutchinson, pianist Bruce Barth and saxophonist Antonio Hart. The vocalist is Whitaker’s daughter, Rockelle Fortin.

Whitaker (also formerly of the Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra and the Terence Blanchard Quintet) says the album has a modern hard bop sound. “It’s about swinging and having a good time.”

When We Find Ourselves Alone is available on CD and for digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

When We Find Ourselves Alone Track List:

  1. The World Falls Away
  2. When You Played With Roy
  3. Autumn Leaves
  4. Jamerson’s Lullaby
  5. You Go to My Head
  6. Invitation
  7. Freedom Day
  8. A Mother’s Cry
  9. Mr. Magic
  10. When We Find Ourselves Alone
  11. Lost Alone in You Again

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts