the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Opeth’s 11th is Heavy on Melody

Opeth: Pale CommunionSwedish progressive metal band Opeth has released the follow-up to its acclaimed 2011 album, Heritage.

Pale Communion, featuring the bass work of Martín Méndez, is the 11th album from the group, which originated as a death metal outfit.

Méndez and vocalist-guitarist-producer Mikael Åkerfeldt wrote all the songs on the album, which Åkerfeldt says found the group focusing on melodies more than ever before.

The first single, “Cusp of Eternity”, proves his point, while still being pretty epic:

Pale Communion is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Pale Communion Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Eternal Rains Will Come
  2. Cusp of Eternity
  3. Moon Above, Sun Below
  4. Elysian Woes

Disc 2:

  1. Goblin
  2. River
  3. Voice of Treason
  4. Faith In Others

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts