Death from Above 1979 Returns with First Album in a Decade

Death from Above 1979: The Physical WorldDeath from Above 1979 has returned after a decade-long absence.

The Physical World arrives 10 years after the dance/punk duo released its debut LP, 2004’s You’re a Woman, I’m a Machine.

The music is the first to appear from the Canadian pair (bassist/synth player/backup vocalist Jesse F. Keeler and drummer/vocalist Sebastien Grainger) since it reunited in 2011, following a 2006 breakup.

There’s not a lot of info out there about why the group reunited — Keeler’s been making loads of music as part of the electronic duo MSTRKRFT in the interim — but it’s good to hear music from this pair again.

Here’s a sample of what the new album promises on the track “Trainwreck 1979”:

The Physical World is available on CD, vinyl and as digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Physical World Track List:

  1. Cheap Talk
  2. Right On, Frankenstein!
  3. Virgins
  4. Always On
  5. Crystal Ball
  6. White is Red
  7. Trainwreck 1979
  8. Nothing Left
  9. Government Trash
  10. Gemini
  11. The Physical World

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts