the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Meshuggah Offers Up New Live Recording on “The Ophidian Trek”

Meshuggah: The Ophidian TrekDick Lövgren is a bassist as at home playing jazz as metal. While he’s a trained jazz bassist, since 2004 he’s been more well-known for his work with Swedish experimental metal band Meshuggah.

His Meshuggah sound, created by playing with a pick exclusively, is evident on the band’s second live recording, CD/DVD set The Ophidian Trek, which documents a May 2013 London show on the tour of the same name.

Here’s a little taste of what Meshuggah and Lövgren have to offer this time out:

The show, recorded at the Brixton Academy, is available as a CD/DVD set and as a CD/Blu-ray set. The music is also available for digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Ophidian Trek Track List:

  1. Swarmer
  2. Swarm
  3. Combustion
  4. Rational Gaze
  5. obZen
  6. Lethargia
  7. Do Not Look Down
  8. The Hurt That Finds You First
  9. I Am Colossus
  10. Bleed
  11. Demiurge
  12. New Millennium Cyanide Christ
  13. Dancers to a Discordant System
  14. Mind’s Mirrors/In Death — Is Life/In Death — Is Death
  15. The Last Vigil

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,


Share your thoughts

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *