The Melvins’ Record Features Tour Bassist Jeff Pinkus

The Melvins: Hold It InThe Melvins have not one, but two members of the Butthole Surfers appearing on the group’s latest album Hold It In.

The Surfers’ Jeff Pinkus, who has also toured with The Melvins, is sitting in for regular bassist Jared Warren, who is on paternity leave from the band. The Sufers’ guitarist Paul Leary is also on the record. The Melvins’ Buzz Osborne has praised Pinkus for his “out of the box” approach to playing. His work is singled out by another Melvin, Dale Crover, on the song “Sesame Street Meat.” Crover says the band kicks in after the introduction of a “slinky bass line” by Pinkus.

Check it out on SoundCloud:

Hold It In is available on CD, vinyl, and for digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Hold It In Track List:

  1. Bride of Crankenstein
  2. You Can Make Me Wait
  3. Brass Cupcake
  4. Barcelonian Horseshoe Pit
  5. Onions Make the Milk Taste Bad
  6. Eyes on You
  7. Sesame Street Meat
  8. Nine Yards
  9. The Bunk Up
  10. I Get Along (Hollow Moon)
  11. Piss Pisstopherson
  12. House of Gasoline

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts