Bob Dylan and The Band’s Complete Basement Tapes Released

Bob Dylan and The Band: The Basement Tapes Complete

If you’re a fan of Bob Dylan and/or The Band, you always knew that they made far more music together than was released on 1975’s The Basement Tapes.

Now, all that music, originally recorded in the summer of 1967 in the basement of the West Saugerties, New York – home known as “Big Pink” – is available on a 6-CD set called The Basement Tapes Complete: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11.

This is the set to check out if you want to know what it sounded like to be in “Big Pink” as Dylan recovered from a motorcycle accident and a band called The Hawks began its transformation into The Band, which was destined to become one of music’s most iconic roots-rock bands. You really can’t underestimate the influence of these recordings. Just listen to this short piece from PRX:

The Band’s Garth Hudson worked with an archivist and producer to restore the tapes so that the music — featuring the late bassist Rick Danko — sounds as it did when it was recorded. The box set of 138 tracks also includes a 120-page book featuring previously unseen photos, and extensive liner notes are also part of the package.

The set is available on CD.

The Basement Tapes Complete: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11 Track List:

Disc One:

  1. Edge of the Ocean
  2. My Bucket’s Got a Hole in It (written by Clarence Williams)
  3. Roll on Train
  4. Mr. Blue (written by Dewayne Blackwell)
  5. Belshazzar (written by Johnny Cash)
  6. I Forgot to Remember to Forget (written by Charlie A Feathers and Stanley A Kesler)
  7. You Win Again (written by Hank Williams)
  8. Still in Town (written by Hank Cochran and Harlan Howard)
  9. Waltzing with Sin (written by Sonny Burns and Red Hayes)
  10. Big River (Take 1) (written by Johnny Cash)
  11. Big River (Take 2) (written by Johnny Cash)
  12. Folsom Prison Blues (written by Johnny Cash)
  13. Bells of Rhymney (written by Idris Davies and Peter Seeger)
  14. Spanish is the Loving Tongue
  15. Under Control
  16. Ol’ Roison the Beau (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  17. I’m Guilty of Loving You
  18. Cool Water (written by Bob Nolan)
  19. The Auld Triangle (written by Brendan Francis Behan)
  20. Po’ Lazarus (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  21. I’m a Fool for You (Take 1)
  22. I’m a Fool for You (Take 2)

Disc Two:

  1. Johnny Todd (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  2. Tupelo (written by John Lee Hooker)
  3. Kickin’ My Dog Around (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  4. See You Later Allen Ginsberg (Take 1)
  5. See You Later Allen Ginsberg (Take 2)
  6. Tiny Montgomery
  7. Big Dog
  8. I’m Your Teenage Prayer
  9. Four Strong Winds (written by Ian Tyson)
  10. The French Girl (Take 1) (written by Ian Tyson and Sylvia Tyson)
  11. The French Girl (Take 2) (written by Ian Tyson and Sylvia Tyson)
  12. Joshua Gone Barbados (written by Eric Von Schmidt)
  13. I’m in the Mood (written by Bernard Besman and John Lee Hooker)
  14. Baby Ain’t That Fine (written by Dallas Frazier)
  15. Rock, Salt and Nails (written by Bruce Phillips)
  16. A Fool Such As I (written by William Marvin Trader)
  17. Song for Canada (written by Pete Gzowski and Ian Tyson)
  18. People Get Ready (written by Curtis L Mayfield)
  19. I Don’t Hurt Anymore (written By Donald I Robertson and Walter E Rollins)
  20. Be Careful of Stones That You Throw (written by Benjamin Lee Blankenship)
  21. One Man’s Loss
  22. Lock Your Door
  23. Baby, Won’t You be My Baby
  24. Try Me Little Girl
  25. I Can’t Make it Alone
  26. Don’t You Try Me Now

Disc Three:

  1. Young but Daily Growing (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  2. Bonnie Ship the Diamond (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  3. The Hills of Mexico (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  4. Down on Me (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  5. One for the Road
  6. I’m Alright
  7. Million Dollar Bash (Take 1)
  8. Million Dollar Bash (Take 2)
  9. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread (Take 1)
  10. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread (Take 2)
  11. I’m Not There
  12. Please Mrs. Henry
  13. Crash on the Levee (Take 1)
  14. Crash on the Levee (Take 2)
  15. Lo and Behold! (Take 1)
  16. Lo and Behold! (Take 2)
  17. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere (Take 1)
  18. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere (Take 2)
  19. I Shall be Released (Take 1)
  20. I Shall be Released (Take 2)
  21. This Wheel’s on Fire (written by Bob Dylan and Rick Danko)
  22. Too Much of Nothing (Take 1)
  23. Too Much of Nothing (Take 2)

Disc Four:

  1. Tears of Rage (Take 1) (written by Bob Dylan and Richard Manuel)
  2. Tears of Rage (Take 2) (written by Bob Dylan and Richard Manuel)
  3. Tears of Rage (Take 3) (written by Bob Dylan and Richard Manuel)
  4. Quinn the Eskimo (Take 1)
  5. Quinn the Eskimo (Take 2)
  6. Open the Door Homer (Take 1)
  7. Open the Door Homer (Take 2)
  8. Open the Door Homer (Take 3)
  9. Nothing Was Delivered (Take 1)
  10. Nothing Was Delivered (Take 2)
  11. Nothing Was Delivered (Take 3)
  12. All American Boy (written by Bobby Bare)
  13. Sign on the Cross
  14. Odds and Ends (Take 1)
  15. Odds and Ends (Take 2)
  16. Get Your Rocks Off
  17. Clothes Line Saga
  18. Apple Suckling Tree (Take 1)
  19. Apple Suckling Tree (Take 2)
  20. Don’t Ya Tell Henry
  21. Bourbon Street

Disc Five:

  1. Blowin’ in the Wind
  2. One Too Many Mornings
  3. A Satisfied Mind (written by Joe Hayes and Jack Rhodes)
  4. It Ain’t Me, Babe
  5. Ain’t No More Cane (Take 1) (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  6. Ain’t No More Cane (Take 2) (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  7. My Woman She’s A-Leavin’
  8. Santa-Fe
  9. Mary Lou, I Love You Too
  10. Dress it up, Better Have it All
  11. Minstrel Boy
  12. Silent Weekend
  13. What’s it Gonna be When it Comes Up
  14. 900 Miles from My Home (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  15. Wildwood Flower (written by A.P. Carter)
  16. One Kind Favor (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  17. She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  18. It’s the Flight of the Bumblebee
  19. Wild Wolf
  20. Goin’ to Acapulco
  21. Gonna Get You Now
  22. If I Were A Carpenter (written by James Timothy Hardin)
  23. Confidential (written by Dorina Morgan)
  24. All You Have to do is Dream (Take 1)
  25. All You Have to do is Dream (Take 2)

Disc Six:

  1. 2 Dollars and 99 Cents
  2. Jelly Bean
  3. Any Time
  4. Down by the Station
  5. Hallelujah, I’ve Just Been Moved (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  6. That’s the Breaks
  7. Pretty Mary
  8. Will the Circle be Unbroken (written by A.P. Carter)
  9. King of France
  10. She’s on My Mind Again
  11. Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  12. On a Rainy Afternoon
  13. I Can’t Come in with a Broken Heart
  14. Next Time on the Highway
  15. Northern Claim
  16. Love is Only Mine
  17. Silhouettes (written by Bob Crewe and Frank C Slay Jr.)
  18. Bring it on Home
  19. Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies (Traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)
  20. The Spanish Song (Take 1)
  21. The Spanish Song (Take 2)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Louis

    When Americana and Canadiana meet….priceless