The Band’s “Music From Big Pink” Gets 50th Anniversary Reissue

The Band: Music From Big Pink (50th Anniversary Reissue)

The Band is one of the most influential rock groups of all time. 2018 marks the 50th anniversary of their debut album, Music From Big Pink, which has been re-released in a special edition.

The original music has been given a new stereo mix by producer Bob Clearmountain, who used the original four-track analog master for his work. It has better clarity plus previously unreleased chatter from the studio sessions. The original album is then followed by five outtakes and alternate recordings, including a previously unreleased a cappella version of “I Shall Be Released.”

“Big Pink” refers to a house shared by bandmates Richard Manuel, Garth Hudson, and the late bassist Rick Danko, who also sang on three tracks: “Caledonia Mission”, “Long Black Veil”, and “This Wheel’s on Fire.” The house proved to be fertile grounds for musical experimentation. Hear guitarist Robbie Robertson describe the band’s mentality at the time:

Music From Big Pink 50th Anniversary is available now in a super deluxe box set, CD, vinyl and as a Amazon digital download).

Music From Big Pink 50th Anniversary Track List:

  1. Tears Of Rage
  2. To Kingdom Come
  3. In A Station
  4. Caledonia Mission
  5. The Weight
  6. We Can Talk
  7. Long Black Veil
  8. Chest Fever
  9. Lonesome Suzie
  10. This Wheel’s On Fire
  11. I Shall Be Released
  12. Yazoo Street Scandal (Outtake)
  13. Tears Of Rage (Alternate Take)
  14. Long Distance Operator (Outtake)
  15. Lonesome Suzie (Alternate Take)
  16. Key To The Highway (Outtake)
  17. I Shall Be Released (A Cappella)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts