the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Bill Laswell Digs Into “The Process” with Chili Pepper Chad Smith

Bill Laswell: The ProcessEclectic bassist and producer Bill Laswell has teamed with Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith and New Orleans pianist/keyboardist Jon Batiste on the new album, The Process.

“The original idea was to film unfamiliar musicians playing together in a room with no preconceived direction. Over time it began to transform into making a record,” Laswell said. The movie was never made. The album, however, remains.

Check out this short film to get an idea of what the album has to offer:

Laswell, who has worked with a wide variety of artists — Herbie Hancock, Sly & Robbie, and John Lydon to name a few — says the making of the album required the players to “explore each other’s musicianship” and that process ultimately resulted in music that he called “strikingly unique.”

Other musicians on the record include Tunde Adebimpe of TV on the Radio and Killah Priest of Wu-Tang Clan.

The Process, released on Laswell’s M.O.D. Technologies label, is available on CD, vinyl, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Process Track List:

  1. B1
  2. Drop Away
  3. Timeline
  4. Haunted
  5. B2
  6. Turn on the Light / Ascent
  7. Black Arc
  8. Spiral
  9. B3
  10. Time Falls
  11. The Drift

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts