Rediscovered Buena Vista Social Club Music Released on “Lost and Found”

The Buena Vista Social Club: Lost and FoundThe 1997 album, The Buena Vista Social Club, alerted many music fans to a world of Cuban music they may not have fully appreciated or even known about previously. The majority of the Buena Vista players were older at the time of the original, self-titled album’s release, with music careers prominent in the 1940s and 1950s. Sadly, many of those players have since died, including double bassist Orlando “Cachaíto” López, who passed away in 2009.

But — these musicians, who’s opened so many eyes and ears to the power of Cuban music, are still giving of themselves on the Buena Vista Social Club’s Lost and Found. The album is composed of some songs recorded in the same sessions that led to the collective’s 1997 watershed album, and some others from following years.

Here’s just a little taste of what these previously unreleased tracks offer:

Lost and Found is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Lost and Found Track List:

  1. Bruca Manugua
  2. Macusa
  3. Tiene Sabor
  4. Bodas De Oro
  5. Black Chicken 37
  6. Habanera
  7. Como Fue
  8. Guajira En F
  9. Quiéreme Mucho
  10. Pedacito De Papel
  11. Mami Me Gustó
  12. Lágrimas Negras
  13. Como Siente Yo
  14. Rubén Sings

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. And a great find it is … Some great music came from Buena Vista Social Club,and glad to listen in on some more gems .