the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

The Alabama Shakes’ Sophomore Offering Both Far-Out and Soulful

Alabama Shakes: Sound & ColorThe Alabama Shakes’ second album, Sound & Color, is being deemed kind of far out by the band itself.

Founding member and bassist Zac Cockrell described in Rolling Stone the reaction he’d get when playing the moody, long piece “Gemini” for his friends. ”They’re like, ‘Uhhh… OK.’ I don’t think they liked it. I finally quit sharing with people.”

Here’s what he means. Check out this live London performance of “Gemini” from February:

But, that’s not exactly what all of Sound & Color sounds like. “Don’t Wanna Fight,” as performed on Saturday Night Live, offers up a soulful groove:

Sound & Color is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Sound & Color Track List:

  1. Sound & Color
  2. Don’t Wanna Fight
  3. Dunes
  4. Future People
  5. Gimme All Your Love
  6. This Feeling
  7. Guess Who
  8. The Greatest
  9. Shoegaze
  10. Miss You
  11. Gemini
  12. Over My Head

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts

Michael E Jones

Well, the London dug Gemini and so do I! Love this record!!!


I wanted to like this band, but it seems like the music media is trying to make it all about Brittany Howard. I wouldn’t be surprised if she goes on a solo singing career very soon.