Ben Williams Comes of Age on Second Album

Ben Williams: Coming of AgeJazz bassist Ben Williams’ second album, Coming of Age, explores the musical and emotional growth of Williams, who won the 2009 Thelonious Monk Institute International Jazz Competition.

The album not only includes his own work, but also a cover of Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit.”

Here’s the album’s opening track, “Black Villain Music”:

Coming of Age is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Coming of Age Track List:

  1. Black Villain Music
  2. Strength and Beauty
  3. Half Steppin’
  4. Voice of Freedom (for Mandela) featuring Goapele
  5. Toy Soldiers
  6. Lost & Found
  7. Forecast
  8. The Color of My Dreams
  9. Smells Like Teen Spirit
  10. Toy Soldiers (Reprise)
  11. Coming of Age

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Mike Matthews

    Nice groove and great musicianship!