The Aristocrats Show What They’ve Learned on “Tres Caballeros”

The Aristocrats: Tres CaballerosInstrumental rock/fusion trio The Aristocrats’ third studio album, Tres Caballeros, reveals a young band of pros, who have learned a great deal in the band’s four years together.

Here’s a few ways information manifested itself for Tres Caballeros, according to guitarist Guthrie Govan: “The decision to road-test our new material in front of a live audience before commencing the recording process; the choice to record in a studio which had some thoroughly inspiring rock’n’roll ‘mojo’; our sudden urge to become more bold and experimental with overdubs rather than feeling any pressure to record exclusively in a strict ‘trio’ format… all of this has had some kind of positive effect on the way the new record came out.”

Bryan Beller (Joe Satriani, Dethklok) and drummer Marco Minnemann (Steven Wilson, Joe Satriani) round out the trio, which recorded the album at Sunset Sound in Hollywood, where The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, and Van Halen have recorded. Tres Caballeros is available in a CD/DVD set featuring not only the music, but also interviews, studio and live footage and some bonus audio.

First, check out the sound:

And, then get a little insight, via a DVD preview, into the fun behind the music, which can be lighthearted itself, with song titles like “The Kentucky Meat Shower”:

Tres Caballeros is available in the CD/DVD set, as a single CD, and as a digital download.

Tres Caballeros Track List:

  1. Stupid 7
  2. Jack’s Back
  3. Texas Crazypants
  4. ZZ Top
  5. Pig’s Day Off
  6. Smuggler’s Corridor
  7. Pressure Relief
  8. The Kentucky Meat Shower
  9. Through The Flower

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Anthony

    The music is great, I am a huge fan of Bryan Beller. The man is downright nice and so humble given his ridiculous ability.