Vail Johnson Releases “The Seventh Son”

Vail Johnson: The Seventh SonSession bass ace Vail Johnson has returned with The Seventh Son, a thirteen-song album that brings together several genres to create a style the bassist calls “JazzAmericana.” Johnson, whose has worked with artists from Herbie Hancock to Whitney Houston, fuses country, blues, R&B, folk, and jazz for an eclectic yet cohesive sound.

“This mix of originals and covers of timeless classics may raise some eyebrows amongst the die-hard Country traditionalist but [I] hope you will enjoy what we think is a very unique and original approach to modern music,” he shares.

Johnson plays bass and drums as well as sings for the album while recruiting other session players to round the arrangements out. The Seventh Son is available now on Amazon and CDBaby.

The Seventh Son Track List:

  1. Wichita Lineman
  2. Love the One You’re With
  3. Country Soul
  4. Honky Tonk Night Time Man
  5. Amarillo By Morning
  6. One of These Days
  7. Ring of Fire
  8. Dreams of the Heart
  9. Heartache Tonight
  10. Rose in Paradise
  11. Some Kind of Wonderful
  12. Can’t Get Enough
  13. You Got It

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Vail performed at Chuck Rainey’s Rhythm Intensive Bass camp in Nashville last weekend. He sounded AMAZING! Got his new CD while there, and it is just as amazing as seeing him live. He is really pushing some boundaries on the 4-string. Check it out!