Gary Willis Releases “Gets Larger Than Life”

Gary Willis: Larger Than LifeFamed bassist Gary Willis, well known for his work with the band Tribal Tech, has released his fifth solo record, Larger Than Life.

The fusion-funk record pairs Willis with drummer Gergo Borlai, Tribal Tech band mate Scott Kinsey (keyboards), Steve Tavaglione (saxes and EWI), Claudia Bardagí (voice) and Llibert Fortuny (tenor sax and voice).

Willis, Borlai and Kinsey form the core of the group, as Willis notes while talking about the album track “2Fast.” “The thing is, when the three of us play together, it just flows. It’s effortless. We don’t have to talk about things, we don’t have to discuss direction; it just happens, especially with Gergo. Playing with him, all possibilities are open and they will all be taken to full advantage.”

Here’s a sampler of the album’s songs:

Larger Than Life is available on CD.

Larger Than Life Track List:

  1. The Professionals
  2. Everything’s Cool
  3. Larger Than Life
  4. Say It Ain’t So
  5. Source Code
  6. Hipster
  7. Solaris
  8. Beast Mode
  9. Alien Head Explodes
  10. Vendetta
  11. 2Fast
  12. Superhero

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts