the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Paul McCartney Remixes, Remasters, Rarities Appear in “Tug of War” and “Pipes of Peace” Reissues

The Paul McCartney Archive Collection album series is going strong, with the dual release of deluxe editions of the famed bassist/multi-instrumentalist, vocalist and songwriter’s 1982 Tug of War and 1983 Pipes of Peace.

Paul McCartney’s Tug of War Reissue

Tug of War, which featured the hits “Take It Away” and “Ebony and Ivory” as well as “Here Today” – McCartney’s song for his former bandmate in The Beatles, John Lennon, who was gunned down by a disturbed fan two years prior – will be released in several editions, one of which includes a 2015 remix of the album as well as its original version, unreleased demos and outtakes, original album music videos, a new 18-minute documentary. The deluxe edition also features a 112-page essay book and 64-page scrapbook.

Paul McCartney’s Pipes of Peace Reissue

Pipes of Peace offers a similar package, with some rediscovered demos and outtakes, essay book and scrapbook, the remastered album, as well as an exclusive 2015 remix of McCartney’s smash duet with Michael Jackson, “Say Say Say.” Original videos from the album, as well as some archival clips are also part of the deluxe edition.

Both albums are also available in 2 LP sets on 180-gram vinyl (with download cards).

Tug of War is available as a 3CD/1DVD set, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3). Pipes of Peace is available as a 2CD/1DVD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Tug of War Track List:

Disc 1 – Remixed album:

  1. Tug of War (Remixed 2015)
  2. Take It Away (Remixed 2015)
  3. Somebody Who Cares (Remixed 2015)
  4. What’s That You’re Doing? (Remixed 2015)
  5. Here Today (Remixed 2015)
  6. Ballroom Dancing (Remixed 2015)
  7. The Pound Is Sinking (Remixed 2015)
  8. Wanderlust (Remixed 2015)
  9. Get It (Remixed 2015)
  10. Be What You See (Link) (Remixed 2015)
  11. Dress Me Up As a Robber (Remixed 2015)
  12. Ebony and Ivory (Remixed 2015)

Disc 2 – Original album:

  1. Tug of War
  2. Take It Away
  3. Somebody Who Cares
  4. What’s That You’re Doing?
  5. Here Today
  6. Ballroom Dancing
  7. The Pound Is Sinking
  8. Wanderlust
  9. Get It
  10. Be What You See (Link)
  11. Dress Me Up As a Robber
  12. Ebony and Ivory

Disc 3 – Bonus Audio:

  1. Stop, You Don’t Know Where She Came From [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  2. Wanderlust [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  3. Ballroom Dancing [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  4. Take It Away [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  5. The Pound Is Sinking [Demo] (2015 Remaster)
  6. Something That Didn’t Happen [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  7. Ebony and Ivory [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  8. Dress Me Up As a Robber/Robber Riff [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  9. Ebony and Ivory [Solo Version] (B-side of Ebony and Ivory 12” single)
  10. Rainclouds (B-side of Ebony and Ivory 7″ single)
  11. I’ll Give You a Ring (B-side of Take It Away single)

Disc 4 – Bonus Film (DVD):

  1. Tug of War Music Video (Version 1)
  2. Tug of War Music Video (Version 2)
  3. Take It Away Music Video
  4. Ebony and Ivory Music Video
  5. Fly TIA – Behind The Scenes on Take It Away (new 18 minute documentary using previously unreleased archive footage)

Pipes of Peace Track List:

Disc 1 – Remastered Album (Stereo):

  1. Pipes of Peace
  2. Say Say Say
  3. The Other Me
  4. Keep Under Cover
  5. So Bad
  6. The Man
  7. Sweetest Little Show
  8. Average Person
  9. Hey Hey
  10. Tug of Peace
  11. Through Our Love

Disc 2 – Bonus Audio:

  1. Average Person [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  2. Keep Under Cover [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  3. Sweetest Little Show [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  4. It’s Not On [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  5. Simple As That [Demo] (previously unreleased)
  6. Say Say Say [2015 Remix] (previously unreleased)
  7. Ode to a Koala Bear (B-side of ‘Say Say Say’ single)
  8. Twice in a Lifetime (bonus track from 1993 reissue)
  9. Christian Bop (previously unreleased)

Disc 3 – DVD:

  1. Pipes of Peace Music Video
  2. So Bad Music Video
  3. Say Say Say Music Video
  4. Hey Hey in Montserrat (previously unreleased home movie footage, 3 mins)
  5. Behind the Scenes at AIR Studios (previously unreleased 6 min edit)
  6. The Man (previously unreleased home movie footage, 4 mins)

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts