“JACO” Documentary and Soundtrack Available

JACO: The FilmJACO: The Film, has finally arrived.

The Metallica bassist Robert Trujillo-produced film about groundbreaking electric bassist Jaco Pastorius is now available on DVD and Blu-ray. The film can be downloaded on iTunes on Dec. 1. The soundtrack is available, too.

Jaco’s influence on bass playing cannot be overstated. His work with Weather Report, solo, and as a sideman — most famously, for Joni Mitchell — continues to inspire electric bass players.

The film includes interviews with a variety of bassists — both contemporaries and those he inspired. There’s everyone from funk legend Bootsy Collins and Geddy Lee of Rush to Sting and Flea from the Red Hot Chili Peppers. It also tells Jaco’s story, which ended tragically when he died in 1987 at the age of 35.

The two DVD movie set includes the full film, as well as a disc of DVD extras, including 30 previously unseen interviews with musicians like Flea, Joni Mitchell and Carlos Santana. It also features footage used for the August 2015 Jaco’s World tribute show at the Hollywood Bowl.

If you haven’t seen the trailer yet, you must check this out:

And here’s a taste of Rodrigo y Gabriela’s version of “Continuum” from the JACO film soundtrack:

JACO: The Film is available on DVD and Blu-ray. The soundtrack is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

JACO: The Film Soundtrack Track List:

  1. Come On, Come Over – Jaco Pastorius
  2. Continuum – Jaco Pastorius
  3. River People – Weather Report
  4. Teen Town – Weather Report
  5. Portrait of Tracy – Jaco Pastorius
  6. The Dry Cleaner From Des Moines (Live Version) – Joni Mitchell
  7. All American Alien Boy – Ian Hunter
  8. Liberty City (with Herbie Hancock) – Jaco Pastorius
  9. Okonkole Y Trompa – Jaco Pastorius
  10. Barbary Coast – Weather Report
  11. Crisis – Jaco Pastorius
  12. Longing – Mary Pastorius
  13. Nineteen Eighty Seven – †††
  14. Shine – Tech N9ne
  15. Continuum – Rodrigo y Gabriela
  16. Come On Come Over – Mass Mental (featuring Robert Trujillo, Armand Sabal-Lecco, Flea, Whit Crane, Benji Webbe, Stephen Perkins & C-Minus)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Mike Matthews

    I just watched disc 1 of the movie last night and I must commend Robert on a job well done!!! Disc 2 is on my Things To Do list for today.