Dead Inspired: Fare Thee Well Interlude Music Released as an Album

Circles Around the Sun: Interludes for the DeadThe music that accompanied visuals shown during set breaks at The Grateful Dead’s summer Fare Thee Well 50th anniversary concerts has been released as a separate album.

The songs were commissioned by Justin Kreutzmann (drummer Kreutzmann’s son) for biographical pieces he assembled for set interludes, according to NPR. Hence, the album’s title, Interludes for the Dead.

Justin tapped guitarist Neal Casal of the Chris Robinson Brotherhood (and part-time member of Dead bassist Phil Lesh’s group, Phil Lesh & Friends) to form a band to create five hours of instrumental music. “The idea was to not only show reverence for the past but to ultimately, move it forward,” Casal said. “If there’s anything to be learned from the Grateful Dead, it is to dissolve your boundaries, push your limits, and discover your own voice in this world.”

Dan Horne was chosen to handle bass duties for the recordings, which are credited to the band Circles Around the Sun. He’s most well known for work with Beachwood Sparks and Jonathan Wilson. All of the music created by the group was created collectively, without prior preparation, and recorded live.

Here’s a taste of the music:

Interludes for the Dead is available on CD and vinyl.

Interludes for the Dead Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Hallucinate A Solution
  2. Gilbert’s Groove
  3. Kasey’s Bones
  4. Space Wheel

Disc 2:

  1. Ginger Says
  2. Farewell Franklins
  3. Saturday’s Children
  4. Scarlotta’s Magnolias
  5. Hat And Cane
  6. Mountains Of The Moon

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts