MonoNeon Releases Five-Song EP

MonoNeon: Selfie QuickieThe name of the latest release of short pieces from bassist/experimental musician MonoNeon (Prince, Ne-Yo), a.k.a. Dywane Thomas Jr. kind of says it all: Selfie Quickie.

Three of the five songs on the EP clock in at less than two minutes, while the remaining songs run no longer than 2:55 and 3:11, respectively. Selfie Quickie is a collection of funk, noise, microtonality and music developed out of speech dialogue and informed by MonoNeon’s love of geometric abstraction and minimalism. Speech is represented in a piece like “Conversation Between Two Sisters From Memphis,” which melds speech and music to create a unique composition.

Check out the title track for a quick MonoNeon fix:

Selfie Quickie is available as a digital download at Bandcamp.

Selfie Quickie Track List:

  1. Jack Pirtle’s Neon Livers
  2. Neon Anarchy
  3. Conversation Between Two Sisters From Memphis
  4. All Because I’m Black
  5. Selfie Quickie

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Electro-funk-fusion to the max. Mono’s got creativity + chops. I wish him all the best with Prince.