Ghost-Note Announces “Mustard n’Onions”


Photo: Kory Thibeault

Ghost-Note: Mustard n'OnionsGhost-Note has announced a new album called Mustard n’Onions that will be released on April 19th on Mack Avenue records. The band, led by Snarky Puppy’s Robert “Sput” Searlight, welcome a host of guests for the effort including the late Bernard Wright, Karl Dnson, Casey Benjamin, Mark Lettieri, Jay Jennings, Eric Gales, and Travis Toy.

Visionary bassist MonoNeon provides his signature bass lines to the album in addition to some writing, but one track (“Yellow Dan”) will showcase bass GOAT Marcus Miller.

In announcing the record, Ghost-Note released a song as a sneak preview. The track “Bad Knees” was penned by MonoNeon, who also delivers a face-melting fill at the 1:25 mark.

Mustard n’Onions will be out April 19th, but it’s available to pre-order now. A signed CD is available through Mack Avenue while you can pre-save on Apple Music, Amazon, Spotify and more.

Ghost-Note is on the road now. See below for their tour dates.

Mustard n’Onions Track List:

  1. JB’s Out! (Do It Babay) feat. Mackenzie
  2. Move With a Purpose feat. Karl Denson
  3. Where’s Danny?
  4. Origins feat. Keith Anderson
  5. PoundCake feat. Casey Benjamin
  6. Phatbacc
  7. Grandma’s Curtains feat. Eric Gales
  8. Revival Island feat. Travis Toy & Mark Lettieri
  9. Yellow Dan feat. Marcus Miller
  10. Bad Knees
  11. Synesthesia
  12. Slim Goodie
  13. Mustard n’Onions feat. Jay Jennings
  14. Origins Reprise
  15. Nard’s Right feat. Bernard Wright

Ghost-Note Tour Dates:

Jan 13Brooklyn, NYBrooklyn Bowl
Jan 14Washington, DCThe Atlantis
Jan 16West Hartford, CTNew Park Brewing
Jan 17Portsmouth, NHJimmy's Jazz & Blues Club
Jan 18Cambridge, MAThe Sinclair
Jan 19Ardmore, PAArdmore Music Hall
Jan 20York, PAAppell Center for the Performing Arts
Apr 5Live Oak, FLResonate Suwannee
Apr 7Houston, TXJazz Sundays in The Park Series @ Buffalo Bayou Park
Jul 6-7Quincy, CAHigh Sierra Festival

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts