Dream Theater’s Latest Album Goes Epic

Dream Theater: The AstonishingDream Theater’s latest album, The Astonishing, is a double-CD prog-metal extravaganza.

As always, band co-founder John Myung handles bass duties on the album, which also employs the talents of prolific choral/orchestral arranger and conductor David Campbell, who is also known as the father of rock artist Beck.

With a cast of characters, map and complete storyline, the album’s trailer offers an insight into what you’ll find:

You can experience a little more, too. Check out “Moment of Betrayal” from the album:

The Astonishing is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Astonishing Track List:

  1. Descent of the Nomacs
  2. Dystopian Overture
  3. The Gift of Music
  4. The Answer
  5. A Better Life
  6. Lord Nafaryus
  7. A Savior in the Square
  8. When Your Time Has Come
  9. Act of Faythe
  10. Three Days
  11. The Hovering Sojourn
  12. Brother, Can You Hear Me?
  13. A Life Left Behind
  14. Ravenskill
  15. Chosen
  16. A Tempting Offer
  17. Digital Discord
  18. The X Aspect
  19. A New Beginning
  20. The Road to Revolution
  21. 2285 Entr’acte
  22. Moment of Betrayal
  23. Heaven’s Cove
  24. Begin Again
  25. The Path That Divides
  26. Machine Chatter
  27. The Walking Shadow
  28. My Last Farewell
  29. Losing Faythe
  30. Whispers on the Wind
  31. Hymn of a Thousand Voices
  32. Our New World
  33. Power Down
  34. Astonishing

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts