the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

“Odd Light” Is Third Offering from Olivier Babaz’s Trio

Olivier Babaz: Odd LightFrench bass player and composer Olivier Babaz has released his third trio album, Odd Light, with guitarist Francois Jalbert and drummer Mark Nelson.

The album, a follow up to Midnight Caffeine (2012) and Virages (2014), explores textures and architectures in a space where jazz, world music, folk and progressive rock intersect.

A grant from the Montreal (Canada) Arts Council and Studio Crawford helped support the album’s production.

Listen to some album excerpts:

Odd Light is streaming and available for purchase at Bandcamp and for download at iTunes and Amazon MP3.

Odd Light Track List:

  1. Corail Rouge
  2. Snark Attacks
  3. Monkster
  4. L’Apppel du vide P1
  5. Bright Shadows
  6. L’Appel due vide P2
  7. Footprints
  8. Instant Shape
  9. Tingwick
  10. Odd Light

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts

John Hinks

Excellent fusion (if I can use the F-word here!) of different styles. Just *had* to download the album from Bandcamp… :-)
Would like some information on Olivier’s bass(es) and set-up if possible.