Classic Santana Lineup Regroups for “Santana IV”

Santana: Santana IVThe majority of the classic Santana III lineup of guitarist Carlos Santana’s eponymous band, Santana, has reunited to record together for the first time in 45 years on Santana IV.

Sadly, the new record could not include Santana III bassist David Brown, who died in 2000. Instead, current Santana bassist Benny Rietveld (Sheila E., Miles Davis) holds down the low end on the album, which features Santana III-era guitarist Neal Schon and keyboardist/vocalist Greg Rolie, both of whom went on to form Journey. Guest vocalist Ronald Isley, of the legendary Isley Brothers, also appears on two tracks.

Get a taste of the album’s sound and creation in this “making of”:

Santana IV is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Santana IV Track List:

  1. Yambu
  2. Shake It
  3. Anywhere You Want To Go
  4. Fillmore East
  5. Love Makes The World Go Round (Feat: Ronald Isley)
  6. Freedom In Your Mind (Feat: Ronald Isley)
  7. Choo Choo
  8. All Aboard
  9. Suenos
  10. Caminando
  11. Blues Magic
  12. Echizo
  13. Leave Me Alone
  14. You And I
  15. Come as You Are
  16. Forgiveness

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts