Benny Rietveld Anchors New Santana Album, “Africa Speaks”

Santana: Africa SpeaksGuitar legend Carlos Santana pays tribute to the music of Africa on his twenty-fifth studio album, entitled Africa Speaks. Produced by Rick Rubin, the songs come from the rocker’s heart.

“This is music that I hold so dearly, and it’s not a stranger to me,” Santana said. “The rhythms, grooves and melodies from Africa have always inspired me. It’s in my DNA. If you take your inspiration from many, it’s called research. I researched this beautiful music from the African continent. They have a frequency that’s all their own. It’s funny, because when I play in Africa, people say, ‘How do you know our music?’ And I say, ‘How can I not know what I love?’”

The 11-song album is once again anchored by longtime collaborator Benny Rietveld, who has been in the band steadily since 1997. Get a taste of his monster bass lines while Santana explains the album (and plays the upright!) in this trailer:

Africa Speaks is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Africa Speaks Track List:

  1. Africa Speaks
  2. Batonga
  3. Oye Este Mi Canto
  4. Yo Me Lo Merezco
  5. Blue Skies
  6. Paraísos Quemados
  7. Breaking Down the Door
  8. Los Invisibles
  9. Bembele
  10. Candombe Cumbele

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts