Dave Roe Plays on Sturgill Simpson’s Latest

Sturgill Simpson: A Sailor’s Guide to EarthCountry artist Sturgill Simpson has released his followup to 2014’s Grammy-nominated Metamodern Sounds in Country Music.

Called A Sailor’s Guide to Earth, the Nashville-recorded album features soul-inflected vocals from Simpson and bass work handled by prolific bassist Dave Roe (Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn, Jerry Reed, Chet Atkins, Dan Auerbach).

Esquire magazine has already said of the album, “It’s hard to believe any other record this year will raise as many eyebrows, invite as many questions, or be as instantly beloved.”

Check out one of the early releases from A Sailor’s Guide to Earth, “Brace for Impact (Live a Little)” (first video). The record also includes a cover of Nirvana’s “In Bloom.” (second video):

A Sailor’s Guide to Earth is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

A Sailor’s Guide to Earth Track List:

  1. Welcome to Earth (Pollywog)
  2. Breakers Roar
  3. Keep It Between The Lines
  4. Sea Stories
  5. In Bloom
  6. Brace For Impact (Live A Little)
  7. All Around You
  8. Oh Sarah
  9. Call To Arms

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts