Marcus King Releases Solo Album, “El Dorado,” Featuring Dave Roe

Marcus King: El DoradoThough he’s known for leading the Marcus King Band, Marcus King has released his first solo album, entitled El Dorado. The new record was produced with Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys, who performed many of the instruments and hired a crack team of session musicians for the rest.

“El Dorado, a contemporary exploration of southern R&B, country-soul, classic rock and blues, has established the 23-year-old guitar phenom as one of the most soulful voices of his generation,” a press release states. “King’s arresting vocals feature as lead instrument, taking center-stage alongside a genre-bending blend of subtle acoustics, bright pedal steel, raucous electric guitars and blistering solos.”

The bass duties on El Dorado are handled by Auerbach himself as well as seasoned Nashville ace Dave Roe. Roe is a five-time Grammy-winning bassist known for his work with Johnny Cash, CeeLo Green, Carrie Underwood, Sturgill Simpson, and many more.

Check out “Beautiful Stranger”:

El Dorado is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3). King will be hitting the road in supoort of the album with his regular band, including bassist Stephen Campbell.

El Dorado Track List:

  1. Young Man’s Dream
  2. The Well
  3. Wildflowers & Wine
  4. One Day She’s Here
  5. Sweet Mariona
  6. Beautiful Stranger
  7. Break
  8. Say You Will
  9. Turn It up
  10. Too Much Whiskey
  11. Love Song
  12. No Pain

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts