RHCP Release First Studio Album in Five Years

Red Hot Chili Peppers: The GetawayThe Red Hot Chili Peppers have released their 11th studio album, The Getaway, the band’s first record since 2011’s I’m with You.

The album was produced by Danger Mouse and mixed by Nigel Godrich, and as always, features Flea on bass. And according to radio.com, frontman Anthony Kiedis told KROQ radio’s Kevin and Bean that making the album wasn’t a simple task. “We had an unusually difficult experience making this record where we wrote 20-30 songs and it was all ready to go and we thought it was happening, and then Flea went snowboarding and broke his arm real bad, which was a bit of a setback for the bass boner [laughs]. So we rethought everything and then we didn’t have a producer and we were just sort of lost in space with all these songs. Lo and behold it was meant to be, as these things can be, and when all the dust settled Brian Burton, aka Danger Mouse, emerged and said ‘Let’s go make a record.’ We were like ‘Great, we have all these songs’ and he was like ‘Leave those there, let’s go write new songs in the studio.’ So the process began over again.”

Check out the album’s “We Turn Red”:

The Getaway is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Getaway Track List:

  1. The Getaway
  2. Dark Necessities
  3. We Turn Red
  4. The Longest Wave
  5. Goodbye Angels
  6. Sick Love
  7. Go Robot
  8. Feasting on the Flowers
  9. Detroit
  10. This Ticonderoga
  11. Encore
  12. The Hunter
  13. Dreams of a Samurai

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. bob

    Some pretty sick bass on this album. Favorite track is Sick Love.