the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Ben Williams Plays on Jazz Pianist’s Debut Album

Victor Gould: ClockworkClockwork, jazz pianist Victor Gould’s debut as a bandleader has arrived.

The album features Ben Williams (Pat Metheny’s Unity Band) on bass, and even features an homage to bass great/composer Ron Carter, called “Sir Carter.” The record includes sextet arrangements and pieces augmented by strings.

“I didn’t want to be locked in with instrumentation,” Gould says. “I’ve come to believe that the best orchestration is when you change instrumentation very often. So you could think of that in the scheme of one piece or a whole record.”

Check out this quick look at the album:

Clockwork is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Clockwork Track List:

  1. Clockwork
  2. Room
  3. Chaancé
  4. Blue Dales
  5. The Return
  6. Apostle John (Prelude)
  7. Apostle John
  8. Sir Carter (Intro)
  9. Sir Carter 4:52
  10. Nefertiti
  11. Three Souls

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:


Share your thoughts