Led Zeppelin’s BBC Sessions Expands in Revised Release

Led Zeppelin: The Complete BBC SessionsLed Zeppelin has re-released its 1997 BBC sessions collection as the The Complete BBC Sessions, featuring eight previously unreleased sessions from BBC radio.

All the recordings of the band, featuring bassist John Paul Jones, were captured during BBC radio performances between 1969 and 1971. The previously unreleased recordings include three performances from a 1969 session once believed to be lost. That session contributes three songs, including the band’s only recording of “Sunshine Woman.”

The set also features extensive liner notes, accurate notes about the band’s BBC sessions, and two unreleased versions (recorded two years apart) of both “Communication Breakdown” and “What Is And What Should Never Be.”

The Complete BBC Sessions is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Complete BBC Sessions Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. You Shook Me (23/3/69 Top Gear)
  2. I Can’t Quit You Baby (23/3/69 Top Gear)
  3. Communication Breakdown (22/6/69 Pop Sundae)
  4. Dazed And Confused (23/3/69 Top Gear)
  5. The Girl I Love She Got Long Black Wavy Hair (22/6/69 Pop Sundae)
  6. What Is And What Should Never Be (29/6/69 Top Gear)
  7. Communication Breakdown (29/6/69 Top Gear)
  8. Travelling Riverside Blues (29/6/69 Top Gear)
  9. Whole Lotta Love (29/6/69 Top Gear)
  10. Somethin’ Else (22/6/69 Pop Sundae)
  11. Communication Breakdown (10/8/69 Playhouse Theatre)
  12. I Can’t Quit You Baby (10/8/69 Playhouse Theatre)
  13. You Shook Me (10/8/69 Playhouse Theatre)
  14. How Many More Times (10/8/69 Playhouse Theatre)

Disc 2:

  1. Immigrant Song (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  2. Heartbreaker (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  3. Since I’ve Been Loving You (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  4. Black Dog (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  5. Dazed And Confused (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  6. Stairway To Heaven (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  7. Going To California (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  8. That’s The Way (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  9. Whole Lotta Love (Medley) [1/4/71 Paris Theatre]
  10. Thank You (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)

Disc 3:

  1. Communication Breakdown (23/3/69 Top Gear)
  2. What Is And What Should Never Be (22/6/69 Pop Sundae)
  3. Dazed And Confused (10/8/69 Playhouse Theatre)
  4. White Summer (10/8/69 Playhouse Theatre)
  5. What Is And What Should Never Be (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  6. Communication Breakdown (1/4/71 Paris Theatre)
  7. I Can’t Quit You Baby (14/4/69 Rhythm & Blues Session)
  8. You Shook Me (14/4/69 Rhythm & Blues Session)
  9. Sunshine Woman (14/4/69 Rhythm & Blues Session)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts