Aidan Hampson Releases Best of Nathan East Transcription Book

Best of Nathan East for BassAidan Hampson has released a new book of bass line transcriptions, this time focusing on the work of legendary session ace Nathan East. As one of the most recorded bassists in history, East played on recordings with Eric Clapton, Daft Punk, Michael Jackson, and more.

“With such a wealth of material to choose from, selecting his best work was not an easy task,” Hampson states. “I’ve opted for 12 tracks that show his adeptness over many styles, including rock, pop, jazz, funk and blues which help to show why he’s one of the most important studio bassists around.”

The song list includes everything ranging from the Kenny Loggins hit “Footloose” to Eric Clapton’s “Change the World” to East’s own arrangement of the Stevie Wonder classic “Sir Duke.” The book is available now as a PDF download for $7.99.

Best of Nathan East for Bass Song List:

  1. Kenny Loggins – “Footloose”
  2. Philip Bailey – “Easy Lover
  3. Whitney Houston – “The Greatest Love of All”
  4. Michael Jackson – “I Just Can’t Stop Loving You”
  5. Anita Baker – “Giving You the Best That I Got”
  6. Fourplay – “101 Eastbound”
  7. Eric Clapton – “Tears in Heaven”
  8. Joe Satriani – “Cool #9”
  9. Eric Clapton – “Change the World”
  10. Daft Punk – “Get Lucky”
  11. Nathan East – “Sir Duke”
  12. Bob James & Nathan East – “Crazy (featuring Vince Gill)”

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts