Rex Brown Releases Solo Debut Album

Rex Brown: Smoke On This...After much anticipation, former Pantera bassist Rex Brown’s solo album is finally. Smoke On This… showcases the musician’s many sides. He plays bass and guitar as well as taking lead vocals.

While his past with heavy metal shines through, the album is also heavily influenced by classic rock acts ranging from the Beatles to Led Zeppelin. “For me, it’s about a musician first and an entertainer second,” Brown told Revolver Magazine. “It’s all about the songs. That’s what I try to do. I used to write on guitar and I’d do a lot of the arrangements in Pantera and Down.”

Check out the music video for “Buried Alive”:

If you’re worried that Brown has shunned the low end, then rest assured he’s not forgotten it. “I’m still a bass player. The bass player is the solidity of the band, regardless.”

Smoke On This… is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Smoke On This… Track List:

  1. Lone Rider
  2. Crossing Lines
  3. Buried Alive
  4. Train Song
  5. Get Yourself Alright
  6. Fault Line
  7. What Comes Around …
  8. Grace
  9. So Into You
  10. Best of Me
  11. One of These Days

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts