Prophets Of Rage, Featuring Tim Commerford, Releases Debut Album

Prophets of RageLast year, fans of heavy music that grooves were elated at the formation of Prophets of Rage. The rap-rock supergroup includes three members of Rage Against the Machine (guitarist Tom Morello, drummer Brad Wilks, and bassist Tim Commerford), two members of Public Enemy (DJ Lord and Chuck D), and one member of Cypress Hill (B-Real).

Created in reaction to the year’s politics, Morello described the group as “an elite task force of revolutionary musicians determined to confront this mountain of election year bullshit, and confront it head-on with Marshall stacks blazing.” One listen of their new self-titled debut album proves that to be pretty clear.

Commerford and the band lay down the drop-tuned riffs that made them great in RATM with DJ Lord while Chuck D and B-Real provide perspective. Check out the band’s sound (and the bassist’s huge tone) with this video for the song “Living On The 110”:

Prophets of Rage is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Prophets of Rage Track List:

  1. Radical Eyes
  2. Unfuck The World
  3. Legalize Me
  4. Living On The 110
  5. The Counteroffensive
  6. Hail To The Chief
  7. Take Me Higher
  8. Strength In Numbers
  9. Fired A Shot
  10. Who Owns Who
  11. Hands Up
  12. Smashit

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts