Stone Temple Pilots Release Second Self-Titled Album

Stone Temple Pilots 2018 AlbumStone Temple Pilots are back with their first album since 2010’s self-titled release. Their new album, also self-titled, is the first to feature new lead singer Jeff Gutt, who fills the shoes of the late Scott Weiland and Chester Bennington. Of course, the album is anchored by the creative bass lines of Robert DeLeo.

The bassist was first introduced to Gutt’s music in summer of 2016, but it was his audition that really won him the job. “He came in and it was his personality and who he was as a person,” DeLeo told Altwire. “That’s the first thing. You’ve got to think: you’re going to be on a bus and traveling with this person like family. It’s got to be someone who has had some experience with that and who has been on stage and who has been in these scenarios and situations. Also, they have to be able to sing [laughs] and be a genuinely great singer, which is who Scott was. He was a genuinely great singer and these songs that we have written, and these songs that we are writing; it demands someone who can sing.”

Get a load of DeLeo’s bass and Gutt’s vocals on the second single, “Roll Me Under”:

Stone Temple Pilots is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Stone Temple Pilots Track List:

  1. Middle of Nowhere
  2. Guilty
  3. Meadow
  4. Just A Little Lie
  5. Six Eight
  6. Thought She’d Be Mine
  7. Roll Me Under
  8. Never Enough
  9. The Art of Letting Go
  10. Finest Hour
  11. Good Shoes
  12. Reds & Blues

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts