Jimmy Johnson Featured on New Steve Gadd Band Album

Steve Gadd Band AlbumDrummer Steve Gadd has rounded up his band once again for a new album. The new self-titled Steve Gadd Band recording brings together a cast of killer musicians to lock in on the groove-oriented tracks.

“All the guys in the band are good friends of mine, people I like being around—not just musically but in general,” he says. “It’s great to be able to play with guys you like and create more opportunities to keep playing with them.”

The band includes trumpeter Walt Fowler, guitarist Michael Landau, keyboardist Kevin Hays, and bassist Jimmy Johnson. This is the fourth Steve Gadd Band album, all of which featured Johnson on bass. Like Gadd, each member is also veterans of James Taylor’s touring band.

Check out the group’s energy on this album preview:

Steve Gadd Band is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Steve Gadd Band Track List:

  1. I Know, But Tell Me Again
  2. Auckland by Numbers
  3. Where’s Earth?
  4. Foameopathy
  5. Skulk
  6. Norma’s Girl
  7. Rat Race
  8. One Point Five
  9. Temporary Fault
  10. Spring Song
  11. Timpanogos

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts