Jeff Ament Releases “Heaven/Hell”

Jeff Ament: Heaven/HellPearl Jam bassist Jeff Ament has released his third solo album, entitled Heaven/Hell. The album came about after writing several songs that didn’t fit into the rest of Pearl Jam’s style.

“I usually end up having a group of songs that goes to the band, and then there are songs that don’t feel right, or they feel too personal,” he told Rolling Stone. “Maybe I get too far down the road with them lyrically, and I’m either apprehensive to give them to Ed [Eddie Vedder, Pearl Jam’s lead singer], or it just feels better for it to be in my voice. You keep working on these songs, and all of a sudden you have maybe a little group of three or four.”

Ament sings and plays bass, guitars, keys, mellotron, and drums on the album. He also created the album art. Fellow Pearl Jam members Matt Cameron and Mike McCready contribute to the album on the first single, “Safe in the Car,” which features additional vocals by Angel Olsen. Check out the song’s music video:

Heaven/Hell is available now on vinyl through the Pearl Jam store and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Heaven/Hell Track List:

  1. The Noise the Noise
  2. The Door
  3. Safe in the Car
  4. Hyperphagia
  5. Drugs
  6. Moment of Impact
  7. The Voices
  8. Somewhere
  9. Are you Truing?
  10. Choose Your Colour
  11. Only One

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts