Dug Pinnick Releases “Tribute to Jimi: (Often Imitated but Never Duplicated)”

Dug Pinnick: Tribute to Jimi: (Often Imitated but Never Duplicated)Jimi Hendrix inspired countless musicians to pick up their instruments and become better at their craft. One of those musicians was Dug Pinnick, who has just released a new tribute album to the legendary guitarist.

Tribute to Jimi: (Often Imitated but Never Duplicated) covers eight of Hendrix’s most iconic songs including “Fire”, “Purple Haze”, “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)”, and more. Pinnick lays down the bass as well as guitar, piano, percussion, and even kazoo. More than paying tribute to the songs, the bassist also made sure to pay tribute to the sounds of the era.

“I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time, so when the idea was brought up to me, I couldn’t wait to get started! We wanted to recreate the analog recording process as closely to the original recordings as possible, so we did our research and tried to use as many of the original effects and equipment that we could find,” he says. “I’m very happy with how this turned out and I hope everyone enjoys listening to this music as much as I enjoyed recording it in memory of Jimi Hendrix!”

Tribute to Jimi: (Often Imitated but Never Duplicated) is available now on CD through Amazon as well as several formats from Rat Pak Records.

Tribute to Jimi: (Often Imitated but Never Duplicated) Track List:

  1. Are You Experienced
  2. Crosstown Traffic
  3. Fire
  4. If 6 Was 9
  5. Purple Haze
  6. Up from the Skies
  7. All Along the Watchtower
  8. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts